Thanking God for the Gift of My Life

In thanksgiving for the gift of my life and for my full recovery I wish to go on three pilgrimages. Some may think that’s excessive but one can never thank God enough! Not only are these pilgrimages my way of thanking God (as well as Our Blessed Mother & saints for their intercession) but it’s a way for me to see the beauty of this world and live my life to the full. The three pilgrimages I hope to make are to:

1. The Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe in Mexico City – I’ve always had a devotion to her and have been blessed by visiting her basilica before when I lived in Mexico. But I want to thank her for protecting me. I was wearing a beautiful medal of her the night I was shot and I know without a doubt she was there with me. And like every wonderful mother she hasn’t left my side!

2. Rome/St. Philomena – Visiting Rome is my way of thanking the Church both Militant and Triumphant for their intercessory pray that has poured an abundant of graces upon me these past two years. And while in Rome I definitely want to make a side trip to Mugnano and visit St. Philomena who too has been my constant companion. Someone brought a booklet of prayers to her to my hospital room and to this day I have no idea who. She has been a good friend to me from heaven and I want to thank her by visiting her Shrine.

3. El Camino de Santiago/The Way of St. James – It’s a very physical pilgrimage of 700 miles but very beautiful! I’ve had many friends make the camino and their powerful experiences and stories have planted a deep desire to make the camino for myself. After watching the movie The Way only increased my desire to make this pilgrimage. This pilgrimage would be one of thanksgiving to God but especially honoring Him and giving Him glory for my physical recovery.

If you have ever been to any of these locations and have some advice or someone I can contact please feel free to email!

God is Sovereign!

~Rosario Rodriguez

2 Comments

Filed under Catholicism, General, Recovery, St. Philomena

2 responses to “Thanking God for the Gift of My Life

  1. Thanks for sharing Rosario. I love those pilgrimage ideas and would like to do those in addition to a pilgrimage to the Holy Land and to see the Tilma of Juan Diego in Mexico.

    St. Philomena, pray for us.

    • Rosario Rodriguez

      Hey Adam, Thanks for your comment. My brother who’s a seminarian will be traveling and studying in the Holy Land this December to March… lucky guy! As for the tilma of Juan Diego… it’s at the Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe in Mexico City. I made a pilgrimage to see her when I was a missionary in Mexico three and a half years ago. She’s BEAUTIFUL! I can’t wait to see her again!

Leave a Reply

