A Stunning Exit – Carepage Post

Posted Jul 10, 2009 12:08pm

It’s me (Cecilia) again! I just got off the phone with my dad who is at the airport in LA. He asked me to give you an update.

Rosario was discharged from the hospital last night!! Thanks be to God! Dad said they were able to get her pain medicine, and it’s going down well. He also said it’s working. 🙂

Dad also said before she left the hospital, Rosario showered and shampooed her hair and got all dressed up in her own clothes. (He mentioned something about yoga pants. I don’t know if Rosario would consider that ‘dressed up’, but it is dressier than a hospital gown!) He wanted to make sure that I told you how stunning she looked. “She looked STUNNING!” he reiterated several times.

He did say that as beautiful as she is looking, she still has a long way to go. Rosario is walking very slow and she needs help getting out of chairs and out of bed. She also tires easily, which I can attest to.

Last night before the final farewell to the hospital, Danny got Rita and I on a conference call. First we talked with Dad, then Rosario and then Danny. Rosario would get short of breath as she was talking to us. She apologized because her lungs are still not very strong and she has a hard time catching her breath when she talks.

“Well, maybe you should try to slow down.” I suggested.

“Yeah, I know,” she replied. “I guess I’ll have to learn to talk slower. That’s going to be kind of hard.” The idea of Rosario actually talking slower than her usual ninety miles an hour made Rita and I laugh. “Is it really that funny to think about me talking slow?!” she demanded. “Dad and Danny are cracking up over here and you both can’t stop laughing!”

“You know we love you!” I told her. “Hey, maybe you could try to imitate cousin Ron’s southern accent.”

“I guess I could try…”

It didn’t really work during the rest of our conversation, but I’m sure she’ll get the hang of it. 🙂

Rosario’s friends from Act One have set up a new website for her emergency fund. Friend of Act One The website includes the story of what happened. They received permission from the police to use her first name, but not her last name. The new website will keep people updated on Rose’s progress, but it won’t be as detailed as the carepage. And don’t worry, the carepage will continue to be updated.

Thanks for your continued prayers and support.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recovery

Leave a Reply

