The Verdict is in!

After three days of deliberation the jury has finally made it’s verdict. It’s good news and bad news. I’ll tell you the good news first! For the 2nd count where the defendant was charged with robbery, discharging a gun and cause of bodily harm the defendant has been found guilty! Now for the bad news….For the 1st count where the defendant was charged with attempted murder (intent to kill) the jury was hung. Apparently a few jurors were hung up on the word ‘intent’. The Deputy District Attorney said that they will try her again for this charge and there’s already a pre-trial date set for Oct. 7th. (I do not have to attend) There will be a sentencing within the next few weeks for the 2nd count and she’s looking at 30 years to life for that.

So…. we (kind of) won!!! But we’re not done yet! It’s been an emotional roller coaster, many times feeling like I’m in a perpetual state of lent. But now I can rejoice over this victory! After sharing the news with my sister Cecilia I was so relieved and thankful that the defendant was convicted guilty of at least one count that I broke down sobbing, thanking Jesus over and over again and kissing him on a beautiful and large San Damiano Crucifix. I’m so grateful that justice has been served and excited that this is almost over!

Thank you all sooo much for the prayers! I can’t imagine going through this without your support and prayers. You’ve all been a HUGE blessing in my life and I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Prayer, Trial, Update

Leave a Reply

