‘Eat Like a Turkey and Run Like a Gazelle’

Thanksgiving morning I joined about 1,100 other people at Reed’s Lake in East Grand Rapids for the annual   Gobble Wobble. It was my first race since I was shot in the chest and nearly killed a year and a half ago.  I walked 4 miles in an hour and 14 min’s! (The time clock in the picture says 15 but it took us some time to get the camera out!) This was a very exciting event for me on my road to recovery! I hope to work up to jogging at some point over the winter and from there get back to running. I know that there will be many more races to come!

A friend of mine is generously giving me personalized dance lessons for some dance therapy. He’s very careful with my injured muscle area and my energy level…. or lack thereof! It’s an absolute thrill for me to dance again and is great motivation for me to work hard at my recovery. I’m very grateful to be doing something that I love so much again!

There’s obviously so much to be thankful for! And I give my praise where praise is due…

(Clips of) Psalm 136

Praise the Lord, who is so good; God’s love endures forever;
Praise the God of gods; God’s love endures forever;
Praise the Lord of Lords; God’s love endures forever;
Who alone has done great wonders, God’s love endures forever;

The Lord remembered us in our misery, God’s love endures forever;
Freed us from our foes, God’s love endures forever;
And gives food to all flesh, God’s love endures forever.

Praise the God of heaven, God’s love endures forever.

 

God is Sovereign!

~Rosario Rodriguez

Leave a comment

Filed under Recovery

Leave a Reply

