My cousin… a Brother! Whaaaaat?!? Gonna have a monk in the family!!!

St. Andrew's Benedictine Abbey in Cleveland, OH

My cousin Ronn has been accepted to enter St. Andrew’s Benedictine Monastery this January!!! He’s been praying and discerning his vocation for several years and after searching out different orders, meeting and visiting the Benedictines he’s finally found where he feels called to lead a life of a monk!

I’ve been blessed to be a part of this journey with him and remember the day he called me and told me he was thinking of the religious life. I’ve been praying for him, asking St. Philomena’s intercession for him & his vocation and trying to encourage and support as much as I could. Then this past August I visited St. Andrews Abbey with him. I saw how joyful he was to be there and it  gave me a lot of peace and joy.  To experience this with him has been an incredible blessing and I have learned a lot about praying, discerning and trusting in God’s plan for my life from Ronn.

He’s been a great friend and support to me and I’m going to miss him a lot! Especially our silly phone calls late at night, hanging out quoting Joe vs the Volcano and mostly our annual fishing trips up at the cabin! But I couldn’t be more happy for him. In fact I’m sooo giddy with excitement, it’s ridiculous!!!

Ronn, I’m so proud of you for saying yes to God’s call in your life! I  love you A TON cuz and am crazy happy for you!

 

My cousin Ronn doing what he loves most... Fishing!

PS  His name is really spelled Ron but I spell it Ronn… because the second n is silent! 😉 …A long lasting joke between he, my sisters and I. Someday, if God Will’s it he will no longer be Ronn but Brother…??? I’ve already picked out several GREAT names but that’s another post!

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholicism, Family, Prayer, St. Philomena

Leave a Reply

